PDA

View Full Version : Programming experience on resumes?

C@S7
February 7th, 2007, 07:25 AM
Hello, newbie here. I have a question for you all. How much education/experience would you say is needed in a particular programming language (or OS) to safely put it on your resume?
For example, I've taken a C programming course, and have the basics down quite well, but, how much would I be expected to know at an entry level job? Anyone have any ideas?

gradedcheese
February 7th, 2007, 09:03 AM
In your case, I would suggest the phrase "familiar with C" rather than just putting "C" down on the resume. The entry-level job depends on the industry/area. In embedded systems land, for example, entry level C experience still implies that you understand memory management pretty well, understand things like bitmasking, endianness, pointer arithmetic, and have a pretty thorough grasp of data structures. In some other field/area, you may just need to know most of the syntax, pointers as they're taught in that first class, and basic data structures. When in doubt, I'd use 'familiar' though.

morequarky
February 7th, 2007, 10:16 AM
This is a good question. I have often wanted to know this myself.

Is it possible to list some IT stuff and the 'experts' tell us what is needed for entry-level jobs?

All Entry Level::

Java
Network Admin
Ubuntu/Debian

Vorian
February 7th, 2007, 02:02 PM
moved to cafe.

PriceChild
February 7th, 2007, 02:05 PM
If you've been on a course, I'd just put the name of that down, can be no discrepancies then?

ComplexNumber
February 7th, 2007, 02:49 PM
Hello, newbie here. I have a question for you all. How much education/experience would you say is needed in a particular programming language (or OS) to safely put it on your resume?
For example, I've taken a C programming course, and have the basics down quite well, but, how much would I be expected to know at an entry level job? Anyone have any ideas?