PDA

View Full Version : Ruby Rail vs ADP Dot Net

tc101
February 6th, 2007, 02:57 AM
I am a retired programmer. I spent years in the Windows world, most recently working in ASP Dot Net. I quit working about 3 years ago, and for 2 years didn't write a line of code. Recently I have gotten interested in programming again. I am running Ubuntu exclusivly now, and plan to stay totally off windows for at least 6 months. I am very curious about the newest developments in programming and am starting to learn Ruby.

That is all background. Now the questions:

What are the advantages and disadvantages of creating a web site that hits a database using Ruby Rails and mySQL rather than ASP Dot Net and SQL Server?

I know there is a cost saving, since the software is free, but other than that, what are the advantages? I have spent the day playing with Ruby. So far I see a few improvements in a few commands, but nothing that is ground breaking or super wonderful. Of course I am only getting started, so I know there is lots more stuff to learn.

I miss the Microsoft IDE and intellisense. That saves so much typing and so much memorization. Maybe there are similar products for Ruby but I haven't found them yet.

Anyway, what are your thoughts.

lnostdal
February 6th, 2007, 03:13 AM
in many cases autocompletion is implemented at the level above the language; in the editor/ide ..

when doing C, this provides it: http://cedet.sourceforge.net/intellisense.shtml .. when i'm doing lisp - it is "built in" and provided via slime

now, for ruby i am not sure .. this page does mention autocompletion http://wiki.rubyonrails.org/rails/pages/HowToUseEmacsWithRails .. and a google-search for "autocompletion ruby" mentions a couple of others, komodo for instance

tc101
February 6th, 2007, 03:47 AM
I just noticed my typo in the Title. Is there any way I can now change ADP to ASP?

Mirrorball
February 6th, 2007, 04:58 AM
For autocompletion, get the RadRails: http://www.radrails.org/