PDA

View Full Version : system-level problem

jerrybee
February 5th, 2007, 03:09 PM
Newbie here. This, I think, is a system-level problem that has showed up in Dapper, Edgy, and now Feisty, but not in Breezy. Please bear with an abbreviated description, and accept my posting it here as I don't know where the best place to post it is.
The problem shows up as very slow sound, but other system responses are slow too. I'll just refer to the problem as being "slow sound".
The sound is normal in Windows2000, Linspire, and Ubuntu Breezy. In Dapper, Edgy, and Feisty, the drum-roll during the boot process, which normally takes maybe a half-second, will go on for maybe an hour (I kid you not). Trying to play a CD, each note will last for a half-minute or more. I just looked in Edgy to see if the displayed time was crazy too, but it looked like it was incrementing normally.
Yesterday I downloaded Feisty and burned a CD. I tried to boot it to see if this problem had been corrected -- I got the "usual" slow drum-roll during boot, got some normal boot screens, but then got a blank screen and the slow sound for the next 15 minutes, at which time I gave up and re-booted.
Being a newbie, I have no idea what sorts of things to try to track down what's going wrong or where the problem lies. Since Breezy works normally, I figure something was changed between it and subsequent versions. Breezy and Edgy are installed to the HDD while Feisty is still in live CD status. As best I can recall, I also booted Dapper and Edgy as live CDs and got the problem too.
I'll be more than happy to work with the developers to run more tests and provide more info, and help in any way I can to sort this out. Please just correspond and ask.

Disa
February 5th, 2007, 10:53 PM