PDA

View Full Version : Best things to learn how to do with computers (thinkin about the future)?

presbp
February 2nd, 2007, 12:33 AM
Well I started as a little kid on PCs messing around and then I started playing PC games on my computer.

PC games actually brought me to learn how to build my own PC.

Now that I know how to build a PC I would like to start learning even more about PCs and eventually reach that point of being a "computer guru"

Thinking in terms of future tech what would be the most fun and beneficial for me to start learning how to do (Ex: web page creating, java programming, C++ programming, python programming) ??

One of the things I would eventually like to do is to be able to build my own operating system (I know this is far off but I would like to be able to do it sometime)

I am not where I do not know how to do anything though. Using Ubuntu I have learned how to install programs and other simple things, and I have learned some very basic DOS stuff (learning how to show hidden processes, sending system info to a text file, creating directories, showing outgoing connections and matching their process IDs to see if any spyware is running.. stuff like that)

I have a book called Linux Complete: Second Edition which has a copyright in 2002.

I also have a DOS 6.2 Instant Reference Second Edition copyrighted in 1994.. (I know it's old) book

and a book called Creating Web Sites: The Missing Manual copyrighted 2006

Thanks

%hMa@?b<C
February 2nd, 2007, 12:40 AM
Well I started as a little kid on PCs messing around and then I started playing PC games on my computer.

PC games actually brought me to learn how to build my own PC.

Now that I know how to build a PC I would like to start learning even more about PCs and eventually reach that point of being a "computer guru"