PDA

View Full Version : Forget what you're doing sometimes?

SZF2001
January 31st, 2007, 07:18 AM
Sometimes I find that, even though I've been using Ubuntu for only two years now compared to the eight years I used Windows, when a family member needs help on a Windows box ad it's probably something really simple, you forget and have the mentality of "ugh, it should just be working"?

Maybe Ubuntu is making us (more) lazy, but who am I to say - you can use it with whatever difficulty you wish... But still. Anything like that ever happen to you? Just forgetting the little common things in Windows?

DirtDawg
January 31st, 2007, 07:27 AM
I couldn't find the Desktop folder on a Windows box the other day.

FurryNemesis
January 31st, 2007, 07:51 AM
I forgot some minor settings somewhere that my parents really needed adjusting. It's disturbing, but at least one day the XP chug will set in and I'll have an excuse to install (probably by then) Feisty.

cunawarit
January 31st, 2007, 10:03 AM
Just forgetting the little common things in Windows?

All the time, for both Windows and Debian, which are the two OSs I use regularly.

Magnes
January 31st, 2007, 12:09 PM
I was trying to switch to another desktop on Windows once.

Sunflower1970
January 31st, 2007, 04:09 PM

lol

I had to use XP last night for something, and I tried to do the same thing.

3rdalbum
February 1st, 2007, 09:15 AM
Before now, I've inserted a USB flash drive and waited close on a minute for it to appear on the Windows desktop. And I'm CONSTANTLY trying to unmount flash drives by right-clicking on them and choosing "Eject" (which doesn't work on Win).

insane_alien
February 1st, 2007, 05:35 PM
i keep typing 'sudo aptitude update && sudo aptitude upgrade' in the prompt.

that and i keep looking up the top for the applications menu.

Adamant1988
February 1st, 2007, 05:52 PM