PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Support

wersdaluv
January 26th, 2007, 10:42 AM
As a Linux Newbie, I really know how it feels to have a hard time doing simple things because of lack of knowledge. Yes, many guides are available online, but not all of them are comprehensive enough for the Linux Newbie. The Linux Community is doing a very very very good job but it can do better by having a better "Newbie Support."

There have been good guides online. Among those are "Ubuntu Screencasts (http://doc.ubuntu.com/screencasts/)," "How to install ANYTHING in Ubuntu (http://cutlersoftware.com/ubuntuinstall/)," etc.

We need more of these things. Why did I say that? It is because even if there are good documentations and all, newbies still ask simple things in the forums. Also, I was dreaming of convincing people to use Linux but those people are not willing to get out of their conmfort zone. If there was a documentation which shows people how good Linux is and how easy it is to use, that would make a BIG DIFFERENCE.

What do I suggest? I suggest a good Ubuntu tutorial right on the Ubuntu Official website which can be accessed by every Linux Newbie who just downloaded Ubuntu and is hoping that things will go right.

I hope that, one day, because of very good tutorials, Newbies will not have to ask very simple questions because of the abundance and accessibility of excellent tutorials.

Ubuntu may be a very good OS, but if its user doesn't know how to use it, there's a big problem. I guess, the Linux Community should spend more time teaching people how to use thier softwares because developing them would be useless if people cannot use them.

More power to Linux! :)

Edit: You may or you may not care if Newbies ask simple questions, but if there was a greater abundance of and a better access to excellent documentations and tutorials, less Newbies will ask simple questions.