PDA

View Full Version : Python?

JamieC
January 25th, 2007, 12:10 AM
I'm considering learning Python, but first I'd like to know a few things...

1. How widespread is the use of Python in business? Do lots of companies use it to develop applications? Would it be worth learning Python as opposed to C/C++?
2. How difficult is Python? I'm not completely new to programming. I have around three years of experience with PHP (granted it is web based but technique and programming fundamentals still apply). I have about 6 months of JavaScript/AJAX experience and I'm pretty good with Pascal (which is useless, I know).
3. Can anyone recommend any books that would be suitable, taking into consideration my programming knowledge (please, not e-books)?

Thanks in advance, Jamie.

Tomosaur
January 25th, 2007, 12:17 AM
1) It's not an 'industry standard', although there are a number of commercial apps written in Python. I don't know any off the top of my head though.
2) Python is considered to be very easy to get your teeth into. It is whitespace-dependent, which forces you to write clean, well-structured code. It has a simple syntax, and documentation is pretty good.
3) Dive into Python is a great book, and is freely available: http://diveintopython.org/

maxamillion
January 25th, 2007, 12:33 AM
NASA and google both code in python ... that's good enough for me :) but I will have to agree that no its not an industry standard.

... the other two were covered, well ... actually all 3 were, just wanted to comment. :P

qamelian
January 25th, 2007, 12:34 AM
3) Dive into Python is a great book, and is freely available: http://diveintopython.org/

It's also included in the Ubuntu repositories.

JamieC
January 25th, 2007, 12:45 AM
It's also included in the Ubuntu repositories.

Thanks for that, I managed to find it using:

sudo aptitude search python | grep book

Thanks everyone. One more thing, is C/C++ more extensive than Python? Can it achieve better results?

maxamillion