PDA

View Full Version : SuSE to Ubuntu

kostaschatzi
January 24th, 2007, 08:01 PM
Dear users hello...

I have heard a lot of nice things about ubuntu and the best of them is what its name mean.I am really new in linux and i have tried my luck with suse and i still have it.But when i found what the name ubuntu means i started downloading it.i know the differences it has with suse like the debian and the gnome stuff but i surely don t have a problem about these.I have a read quite some threads but unfortunately i didn t come up to any indication to the thing that concerns me.My question is if anyone can tell me if it is useless for me to install it because it will anyway not work.My pc has the following features

Asus P5B retail
Intel core 2 duo 6400
ati x1900 xt
western digital sata2 250g
2g ddr2

it will also be dual boot.the other os is winxp

FInally, i would like to ask if there is a compatibility or any other problem with maya and generally 3d animation programms as well as multimedia(i want it to support wmv,mpg,avi,...,mkv files etc.)

Thank you in advance
kostaschatzi

Quillz
January 24th, 2007, 08:05 PM
If SuSE works on that same hardware, I can almost guarantee you that Ubuntu will work.

BTW... Why settle for GNOME? If you want to use KDE on (K)Ubuntu, go right ahead. Linux is all about choices. Never accept the default as your only option.

Choad
January 24th, 2007, 08:06 PM
not sure about maya, im sure it can be done tho

blender is in the repositories, and works flawlessly.

your ati card will start using the radeon driver probably. its the open source driver for ati cards. you can optionally install ati's fglrx driver through synaptic to get more performance out of it

the install is perfectly seemless. after you boot the cd, you can play arround in the live cd environment, and when you're ready, just double click the install icon on the desktop.

the installer has a partition management built in, so you can avoid overwriting your xp partition