PDA

View Full Version : perl, and python

israphelr
January 20th, 2007, 10:44 PM
Hi all.

I've been going through a python tutorial. The language seems very easy, especially compared to Java, which is what I tried a while ago

I just wanted someone to tell what perl and python are most commonly used for, as I'm interested in both languages. I'm new to programming.but..I have been told it's not a good idea for a newbie to begin with Perl.

Since I have nothing I really would like to build, I don't think theres any point in me learning a programming language yet(because i'd probably have to learn it all over again when the time comes around that I'd actually need to use it!)

Thanks.

meng
January 20th, 2007, 10:50 PM
Both languages have their advantages, but I happen to like python as a general-purpose language. Even if you don't plan to build a project right now, it's good to learn the CONCEPTS now and refresh the SYNTAX later. Admittedly, both concepts and syntax are best learned if you also work on projects (even small ones).

Mirrorball
January 20th, 2007, 11:07 PM
Basically everything you can do with one language, you can do with the other. They are both used for simple programs that don't do a lot of numerical computation.

pmasiar
January 21st, 2007, 05:11 AM
I have been told it's not a good idea for a newbie to begin with Perl.

That was very sane advice. Perl was popular years ago, when it was simpler than C++/Java, but now Python/Ruby are better choice.

Since I have nothing I really would like to build, I don't think theres any point in me learning a programming language yet(because i'd probably have to learn it all over again when the time comes around that I'd actually need to use it!)

Especially perl is known to have many quirks and irregularities which will boost your productivity if you hack perl 100 hours a week, but will confuse you thoroughfully if you did not looked in your perl code for 6 months.