PDA

View Full Version : Unfortunately, the Operating System you are currently using is unsupported.



rev_b
January 16th, 2007, 11:56 PM
http://www.sonypictures.com/movies/spiderman3/site/

How lame is this? Clicking on "watch the new trailer" I get this message. Sure, now I need a specific OS to see internet streaming video, a browser and some codec's are not enough...

Pathetic.

seijuro
January 17th, 2007, 12:04 AM
I've seen that with several other sites as well when my wife was looking at an online photoalbum.

Personally I feel all web content should be viewable by any browser(its ok to look better in one than another but should still be usable) on any OS other wise why even bother to have the content on with web in the first place?

ComplexNumber
January 17th, 2007, 12:05 AM
http://www.sonypictures.com/movies/spiderman3/site/

How lame is this? Clicking on "watch the new trailer" I get this message. Sure, now I need a specific OS to see internet streaming video, a browser and some codec's are not enough...

Pathetic.
thats odd, because i'm currently using edgy and i'm watching it now. here is a screenshot as proof

Mateo
January 17th, 2007, 12:06 AM
why make websites OS specific? weird.

ComplexNumber
January 17th, 2007, 12:08 AM
why make websites OS specific? weird.
they're not. see my screenshot.

rev_b
January 17th, 2007, 12:16 AM
they're not. see my screenshot.

See mine.

http://img364.imageshack.us/img364/5602/untitleder3.th.jpg (http://img364.imageshack.us/my.php?image=untitleder3.jpg)

I can watch the trailer on the site you're showing, but I have to go to Open Menu -> Video -> Teaser (quicktime) that redirects me to http://www.apple.com/trailers/sony_pictures/spider-man_3/

Where I can see every movie.

So sonypictures.com doesn't support viewing their trailers within linux, I have to go to apple's site to do it... ](*,)

ComplexNumber
January 17th, 2007, 12:21 AM
See mine.

http://img364.imageshack.us/img364/5602/untitleder3.th.jpg (http://img364.imageshack.us/my.php?image=untitleder3.jpg)

I can watch the trailer on the site you're showing, but I have to go to Open Menu -> Video -> Teaser (quicktime) that redirects me to http://www.apple.com/trailers/sony_pictures/spider-man_3/

Where I can see every movie.

So sonypictures.com doesn't support viewing their trailers within linux, I have to go to apple's site to do it... ](*,)
i think the problem is that you haven't got the correct codecs/formats. i've installed most of the ones that i know about, including w32codecs....and the fact that many linux distros don't include such formats by default is probably why its giving you that message. i doubt it knows that you're runnign linux. its probably just a standard message given out where the right codecs aren't installed because they are installed by default in mac OS X and windows, so the software behind the message assumes that your OS isn't supported.

btw i never saw that message. i clicked on "watch the teaser trailer", then clicked on "medium" under Trailer, and it brought up another window with the video playing.

Mateo
January 17th, 2007, 12:23 AM
i got the not supported message too. as far as a I know, I have all of the codecs.

viciouslime
January 17th, 2007, 12:26 AM
Yeh mine works perfectly too. Running edgy here, no win32codecs installed, just the ugly plugins from the restricted formats guide...

FurryNemesis
January 17th, 2007, 12:30 AM
Dapper User, WM32 codecs installed as well as totem-xine with firefox plugins - works fine for me, if a little jerky due to bandwidth problems...

rev_b
January 17th, 2007, 12:31 AM
i think the problem is that you haven't got the correct codecs/formats. i've installed most of the ones that i know about, including w32codecs....and the fact that many linux distros don't include such formats by default is probably why its giving you that message. i doubt it knows that you're runnign linux. its probably just a standard message given out where the right codecs aren't installed because they are installed by default in mac OS X and windows, so the software behind the message assumes that your OS isn't supported.

No, you're wrong, and I just figured out. I fired up IE 6.0 with wine, just to see what it did. And it's tring to install throught activeX something called "Vividas player", that's why my OS isn't supported, it can't install its crapware on it... :p

Are you sure you clicked on "watch the new trailer"? As I said, I can go to that page you're displaying on your screenshot clicking on "open menu" in the left, and view all the movies. I have all the codecs available installed, even win32 ones (with automatix).

And of course a website knows what OS you're using. That's part of the information you send whenever you request something. Like in www.danasoft.com

aktiwers
January 17th, 2007, 12:32 AM
I can watch it too.. but a few days ago another site wouldnt even let me get in, because it was Windows Only. I think it was some kind of MMORPG game website.. I couldnt even go read about it!!

dorcssa
January 17th, 2007, 12:32 AM
I have the same problem. I'm pretty sure I have all the codecs, coz I wanted to watch a full screen hd-video trailer on another site, and I couldn't. Of course after installing all the codecs, I can only watch it in a little window. :roll: But that's a java problem I think(the site, where it redirects, vivdas.com, tells me that I can see it through wine..but under wine I can't install java for firefox...)


No, you're wrong, and I just figured out. I fired up IE 6.0 with wine, just to see what it did. And it's tring to install throught activeX something called "Vividas player", that's why my OS isn't supported, it can't install its crapware on it... :p

I'm writing too slowly.. :p :D This OS support is the same with Shockwave player(it's like flash player), I wrote a thread about it.

seijuro
January 17th, 2007, 12:33 AM
I'm on dialup with out the win32 codecs or plugins so I can't confirm on way or the other except to say that I have seen sites that reject linux. From past experience I doubt that sony's site is now rejecting linux check and make sure you have the proper browser plugins. It's times like this I sorely miss my dsl the most.

ComplexNumber
January 17th, 2007, 12:35 AM
Are you sure you clicked on "watch the new trailer"?
i'm 101% sure.



And of course a website knows what OS you're using.
yes, thats true. what i meant was they are not making any decisions based on what OS someone is using. but doesn't that prove that they are not being discriminatory towards linux?

btw i had to switch off NoScripts in firefox.

Mateo
January 17th, 2007, 12:37 AM
well, from the screenshot it appears you are using the totem plugin, correct? maybe that has something to do with it, i'm using the mplayer plugin.

rev_b
January 17th, 2007, 12:39 AM
Here's what I get when trying to open it with IE 6.0:

http://img455.imageshack.us/img455/3624/untitlednz1.th.jpg (http://img455.imageshack.us/my.php?image=untitlednz1.jpg)

So no thanks, I'm actually glad my OS isn't supported.... :cool:

BTW, what switching off NoScripts does?

ComplexNumber
January 17th, 2007, 12:39 AM
well, from the screenshot it appears you are using the totem plugin, correct? maybe that has something to do with it, i'm using the mplayer plugin.
yup, i'm using totem-xine. totem-gstreamer would leave out various functionalities, so i switched to xine



BTW, what switching off NoScripts does? it allows javascript and scripts to run.

dorcssa
January 17th, 2007, 12:42 AM
Found it! So, try the full screen trailer...I'm curious..
http://uk.promotions.yahoo.com/transformers/

ComplexNumber
January 17th, 2007, 12:43 AM
Found it! So, try the full screen trailer...I'm curios..
http://uk.promotions.yahoo.com/transformers/
i can see that too. i'm watching it now. the full screen one goes to a support page, but i can see the other one.

dorcssa
January 17th, 2007, 12:45 AM
You mean the full screen trailer? I'm just redirected to that vividas site. What plugin do you use? Totem, or mplayer? Sorry, I missed you're above post...so I'm going to try out totem plugin then.

qamelian
January 17th, 2007, 12:45 AM
I tried it and got a message that a plugin was missing. Looking at the message in the status bar of the popup window that plays the trailer, it's trying to load a java applet. Installing sun-java5-plugin should fix the problem.
EDIT: Never mind. Just tried it and no joy.

rev_b
January 17th, 2007, 12:46 AM
yup, i'm using totem-xine. totem-gstreamer would leave out various functionalities, so i switched to xine

I'm using totem-xine also.

I think it's not a codec issue here, as I said, if I go directly to http://www.apple.com/trailers/sony_pictures/spider-man_3/ , I have no issues displaying the movies, and I can go there from sonypictures.com page, but I have to browse through the menus...

Interestingly enough is why some get redirected automatically to that link and some don't...

ComplexNumber
January 17th, 2007, 12:51 AM
on the support page that one is directed to after trying to watch the full screen trailer, it shows this:

Hardware requirements
192MB RAM
Pentium III or better CPU
450MHz or better CPU clock speed.
Accelerated Graphics card, with at least 4MB of memory(via Windows emulation)
Software requirements
Operating system:
Debian, Red hat, Suse
Emulators:
Only Wine has been testedEmulated Browsers:
Firefox and IEEmulated Browser Extensions:
Sun JVM 1.4 or better

http://www.vividas.com/support/streamingsupport.html#linux



it looks like macs can't view it either:

Macintosh

Minimum Requirements

Note: Intel Macs are NOT currently supported by Vividas. Support is currently under development and is coming soon.
192MB RAM
G3 350MHz
OS X Version 10.2.7
Safari Version 1.2.4

dorcssa
January 17th, 2007, 12:51 AM
I switched for totem, but it's the same redirecting issue..and I have java-5(I had java-6, but that didn't help also..). And the spiderman movie still hates linux..

Emulated Browser Extensions:
Sun JVM 1.4 or better

When I try to install java through wine firefox or ie, I always got an error message..by browser and by manually too.

seijuro
January 17th, 2007, 01:07 AM
have you tried linking to the alternate java plugin for firefox in /etc/alternatives?

Mateo
January 17th, 2007, 01:12 AM
I downloaded "java-gcj-compat-plugin" package from synaptic and this time got a "do you trust this content..." message, but then it went to the not supported screen.

dorcssa
January 17th, 2007, 01:42 AM
have you tried linking to the alternate java plugin for firefox in /etc/alternatives?

Look, I'm a newbie..still, I think. I don't really now what linking is(I only did it once, when there was a problem with amsn 0.96 install), and I don't really now what to do. It's not a big issue for me, and I played with this problem for hours..no success. I just got enough, thanks. I hope, instead, that players like this will do more effort on compatibility problems... :roll:

FuturePilot
January 17th, 2007, 02:30 AM
I'm running Dapper with W32 codecs installed and I can't view that either. And it's not a codec problem, because I can watch just about every other video on the internet just fine.

seijuro
January 17th, 2007, 02:41 AM
Look, I'm a newbie..still, I think. I don't really now what linking is(I only did it once, when there was a problem with amsn 0.96 install), and I don't really now what to do. It's not a big issue for me, and I played with this problem for hours..no success. I just got enough, thanks. I hope, instead, that players like this will do more effort on compatibility problems... :roll:

np sorry for adding to the confusion. If you want to play with it so see if it could be the problem what you do is go to your firefox plugin directory(located on my system at /usr/lib/firefox/plugins) and run
sudo ln -s /etc/alternatives/<firefox-java-plugin-name> .

If there is a java plugin in the directory already back it up and save it in another directory while testing this one.

jimrz
January 17th, 2007, 03:01 AM
i got the not supported message too. as far as a I know, I have all of the codecs.

+1 ... get same error ... have all the codecs

steven8
January 17th, 2007, 03:15 AM
It is not just the operating system. I have been in Firefox under winXP and not been able to do things because the site doesn't like my browser not being IE. That is why I want to start a website dedicated to only hosting games, media, etc. that are TOTALLY browser and OS independent.

marcus2004
January 17th, 2007, 04:34 AM
It is not just the operating system. I have been in Firefox under winXP and not been able to do things because the site doesn't like my browser not being IE. That is why I want to start a website dedicated to only hosting games, media, etc. that are TOTALLY browser and OS independent.
Actually you should make it completely browser and OS dependent. ONLY Linux is allowed to view it. For Windoze just say something like "I am sorry but you are using an inferior spyware riddled OS plus upgrade to Linux."

steveneddy
January 20th, 2007, 07:15 PM
The site in coded in Flash, fellas. Adobe has a new Linux version, #9 I believe, that can be DL-ed and installed very easily. I had no problems. Also, one might, if using Firefox, go to the Firefox website and get the "User Agent Switcher" for websites where you may need windows due to the coding of the web page.

Just select the User Agent that tell the host web site that you are on Windows XP with IE6 and everything works fine. I had to do this to go onto the HR Block web site to do my taxes this year. Works like a charm.

It is easy, BTW, to right a web site and tell what codecs you are needing. The win32 codecs and Flash are all I believe I have ever needed.

-SE

I made a mistake - the first site listed is a Flash site, but there is a Quicktime site listed also. I understand your problem. Please DL Flash 9 from Adobe, make sure you have the mplayer plugin in your ~/.mozilla/plugins folder. Then go here:

http://plugindoc.mozdev.org/linux.html#MozPlugger

and get info for the plugins you will need to run much media on your browser. The mozplugger plugin is in Synaptic. It works well for Firefox. If you have DL-ed some libs or .so files and don't see them in the ~/.mozilla/plugins folder, then look in the

/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins

folder. Copy them to the ~/.mozilla/plugins folder. If you do this and follow the directions for MozPlugger then you shouldn't have any problems running any media you come across in Firefox

ButteBlues
January 20th, 2007, 07:35 PM
I'm using Epiphany and it works without incident. o_O