PDA

View Full Version : What is the best python editor?

thenetduck
January 16th, 2007, 10:50 PM
Hi,
I am learning python and am trying to find the best IDE out there for it. Because I'm new to it, i want something that has all the API docs included with the IDE so I can read them as I learn etc. Even better if it does something like Eclipes with finishing part of the code. Anyway this would be very helpful thanks,

The Net Duck

eteran
January 16th, 2007, 11:25 PM
I'm using SPE since a short while, its definitive worth a look.
The best Editor, is the one _you_ like best.

gh0st
January 16th, 2007, 11:26 PM
I asked a similar question a while ago and most people seemed to say Stani's Python Editor (SPE) was the best free Python IDE. You can get it from Synaptic easily, I installed it and I have to say I like it. It's a nice IDE with some good features but it's not too bulky in my opinion. Might be worth a try.

You're bound to get some people telling you to use gedit or something like that as well because they argue you can't learn anything if an IDE does too much for you. It's a fair point I suppose but it's a personal choice. Personally I choose SPE :D

rolando2424
January 17th, 2007, 12:08 AM
I use good old Gedit and IDLE (used edit.com in Windows once :D)

deadlydeathcone
January 17th, 2007, 06:11 AM
I went through the same thing about a month ago and came to the conclusion that while SPE is definitely the best open source IDE, Wing (http://wingware.com/) surprisingly beats it by a lot. It's unfortunately commercial, but there's a 30 day trial and you can even get it for free if you're an OSS developer. For starters it has the best command completion I've come across along with excellent documentation and a lot of polish.