PDA

View Full Version : Eclipse Help! Anjuta Help! HELP!

nick.inspiron6400
January 16th, 2007, 08:36 PM
Hi,

I have been trying to get eclipse to work, but i have little success. Once i open eclipse i get a message about No Java Development kit or Java Enviroment.

How do i resolve this? I did try Anjuta with Glade but i had alot of problems, with the glade plugin in not working. How do i resolve this aswell?

I have never programmed before in Linux, so i am very new!

If you need any more infomation just ask!

Thanks!

Nick,

Mirrorball
January 16th, 2007, 08:45 PM
phossal wrote these instructions for installing Java and Eclipse, have a look at them:
http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=1978966&postcount=2

phossal
January 17th, 2007, 12:32 AM
The JDK, eclipse and Tomcat tutorial thread is here: full thread (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=332674).

I used Anjuta before switching to gedit. I read something recently about Anjuta being updated, and updated in the repositories before development of the new release was finished. It's caused a lot of problems. You may find more by searching for Anjuta alone.

[edit] Mirrorball, I noticed you had some trouble launching C++ programs from eclipse. Were you able to resolve the problem?

Mirrorball
January 17th, 2007, 12:51 AM
I was having this problem at work and I'm home now. I left work without being able to solve it. At first my old Eclipse installation was giving me a different problem (and it was working perfectly in 2006, it must have been an update that broke it), so I reinstalled it. But my C++ programs aren't launching now. I reinstalled Java as per your instructions (except that it was the amd64 version), but it didn't work.

lloyd mcclendon
January 17th, 2007, 01:59 AM
search around here for automatix, download that and use it to get java and lots of other good stuff set up.