PDA

View Full Version : Need suggestions for noob friendly programing tools. (I'm a student in Comp Science)

braveerudite
January 16th, 2007, 02:30 AM
Need suggestions for noob friendly programing tools. (I'm a student in Comp Science)

Is G++ (aka GCC) a good start?

Tomosaur
January 16th, 2007, 02:37 AM
Depends entirely on what you want to do really. G++ is a compiler - not great to begin with since you need to have already written a program. Which language(s) will you be learning?

braveerudite
January 16th, 2007, 02:42 AM
Depends entirely on what you want to do really. G++ is a compiler - not great to begin with since you need to have already written a program. Which language(s) will you be learning?

C++ is what I'm tryin gto learn. Also wanted to mention that according to synaptic g++ is already installed but wasn't listed in the application menu. I went and looked for it in /usr/bin/g++ but pressed on the bin file and it didn't launch for some reason. Anyways you said g++ is not very good anyways... then what should I start writting programs in?

Mike'sHardLinux
January 16th, 2007, 02:52 AM
It sounds to me like you are looking for an IDE (integrated development environment) - a program to edit your source code. g++ is good, but it's not an IDE. You use g++ to compile your source code. It is a command line utility/program which is why there is not an icon in your desktop menus. You can look for Eclipse, or Anjuta. There are other good IDEs, too. I like Anjuta, but I am not a real programmer. I just like to tinker a bit with C++, and other languages.

Wybiral
January 16th, 2007, 02:54 AM
g++ is a compiler

You use it from the command line.

Try making a hello world program and saving it as "hello.cpp"

Then go to the command line and enter "g++ hello.cpp"

Then you can execute your program with "./a.out" since "a.out" is the default output executable name for gcc