PDA

View Full Version : New 3D engine designed for game making under C/C++ using OpenGL/SDL in progress!

DARKGuy
January 14th, 2007, 12:06 AM
Greetings! ^_^

I'm new to the community and all, at least on the forums though, 'cause I've been in the IRC channel around every now and then :).

Yeah, this is going to be my first post about the 3D engine I've been working on December 2006 and I could finally release a website and a pre-alpha version for you all to test and use. I got suggested by someone on the IRC channel to try to post here to see if I could catch some people to help with the project so here I am :P

I'm not sure about the "spam" policy but this isn't just advertising :/ I'd actually like to find people who might be interested in helping this project grow bigger and better, since the goal is to make a full OpenGL+SDL easy wrapper for complete newbies who want to get into game making under Linux (which I think is the weakest point in Linux...) as making games is a pain in the you-know-what unless you know C++/OpenGL/SDL/binary/trigonometry/etc back and forward and spend more time trying to make things work rather than focusing on the game's real development and not the engine.

The project url, if you want to check is this one: http://gp3d.sourceforge.net

Thanks for reading ^_^;;

- DARKGuy

Wybiral
January 14th, 2007, 12:12 AM
Sounds interesting...
So, this is a game engine?
You should probably put some more "gamey" screenshots up on the site.
I'm going to check it out here in a little (working on something else at the moment) but it sounds pretty cool.

slavik
January 14th, 2007, 01:27 AM
I could probably help you out ...

Wybiral
January 14th, 2007, 01:30 AM
Same here, I have some experience with 3d stuff, particle systems, terrains, model animation, calculating normals, and some special effects such as motion and radial blur.