PDA

View Full Version : Best light and small 14" or 12" laptop?

Mega_slayer
January 12th, 2007, 10:13 PM
Hello everyone, I am a university student looking for a good light and portable laptop for school and home. I am even willing to buy a barebones notebook and build it myself if I can find better deals on certain parts, maybe even used parts (however I'm not sure how much I can trust ebay for example, but there are some on www.tigerdirect.ca that I may buy).

I am graduating this year but going to continue my education later on. That being said, I would kind of like to treat myself by maybe getting something that is a bit more powerfull than what I truly need. Because the crappy Dell Inspiron 1000 would work for me but it is very very slow (and it would not support some of the games I play)!

I guess that i'm looking for something that has the following:

- Intel or AMD 64 bit processor (dual processors would be good)
- 1 Gb of RAM
- 80 Gb 5400 rpm hard drive (a good cache would be nice but not necessary)
- CDRW/DVD or CDRW/DVDRW combo
- Preferably a Nvidia video card due to the fact that I have read that they are better supported than ATI with Ubuntu. 128 mb would be fine. Integrated graphics could be acceptable.
- Wireless card or built in wireless
- 14.1" or 12.1" Wide Screen WXGA
- If it's light than would be great!
- Of course able to support Ubuntu
- A dual boot with windows would be nice for gaming

I have been looking the following notebooks:

- Alieware Sentia m3450

http://www.alienware.com/product_detail_pages/Sentia_m3450/sentia_specs.aspx?SysCode=PC-LT-SENTIA-3450&SubCode=SKU-DEFAULT#pdp-nav

- MSI notebooks, I may even get a 12" screen.

http://www.msi-computer.ca/index.php?cPath=62

- I've looked at some Dell's and Acer's