PDA

View Full Version : Why doesn't Ubuntu automatically mount internal hard drives?

mr_helm
January 8th, 2007, 08:21 PM
I studied computer science in college and almost ALL of the professors there constantly extolled the virtues of Linux as an os being that it is so stable, reliable, etc. (it helped that the code is open source and we could study the boot sequence). We did a mass install party one night of Linux and I installed on an old p133 with a dual boot to mswincrud, however I never found the Linux partition to be useful for anything other than playing mahjongg as it didn't even recognize my nic and thus couldn't get online (an offline computer is a sad and useless thing).

Skip to 8 years later and I learn about Ubuntu and its fun little live cd feature and its "linux for humans" ideals and I downloaded and started playing with it. It worked nicely although a little weirdly doing things like recognizing my scanner but not my printer, (even though they are one machine) and other odd things like that. It also lets me get online (nice).

Ubuntu even notices when I insert a floppy or a usb flash drive etc. and gives me an icon on the desktop (eerily maclike!!), however i have one question. Why, why, why, why, why am I still forced to commit what in mswincrud would be a registry hack just to get it to look at my computers hard drives? The code that i have looked at in the help sections here seems to be the same for all computers, relatively straightforward and uniform. In fact its the same code I studied 8+ years ago in class. Why can't this be an automated process by now?

If anyone knows an answer to this question or feels the same reply and share the love.](*,)

abijah
January 8th, 2007, 08:42 PM
Then "Why, why, why, why, why" don't you write and contribute the code to automate the said process?

IYY
January 8th, 2007, 08:47 PM
Then "Why, why, why, why, why" don't you write and contribute the code to automate the said process?