PDA

View Full Version : What should i install for C++/opengl programming

wannaBeHacker
January 8th, 2007, 01:53 PM
Hey can someone please tell me what packages i need to install to be able to program in c++ and in opengl.

i used to use eclipse.

And i want to do this all through the terminal, so please help me to do this through the terminal thank you!

tzulberti
January 8th, 2007, 02:08 PM
For C++ programming you should install:
build-essential
manpages-dev (man pages about C++)

hod139
January 8th, 2007, 02:37 PM
For OpenGL you want libgl1-mesa-dev and you probably also want libglu1-mesa-dev (for the glu* commands).

wannaBeHacker
January 8th, 2007, 03:27 PM
thanks, but im really a super noob

how do i install the packages again?

sudo apt-get build-essential?

dlai
January 8th, 2007, 04:12 PM
sudo apt-get install <package-name>

You can also use synaptic, which is the graphical interface for installing packages... It is in System->Administration->Synaptic Package Manager, if you are using Ubuntu. If you are using Kubuntu use Adept, I think it is in System Services (or something like that),

If you need any other help just say so... I've been doing quite a lot of SDL/OpenGL programming in ubuntu.

Wybiral
January 8th, 2007, 10:19 PM
You will probably want to install SDL, it's a library that offers things like initializing the window, catching events (mouse/keyboard/window close) and some other stuff. It will be under libsdl in synaptic, I think you need "libsdl1.2debian" and "libsdl1.2-dev" you may also want "libsdl-image1.2-dev" which is a library that makes loading textures a LOT easier.

Another option, as opposed to SDL, is GLUT. It's a little more restrictive than SDL, but it's smaller and most people find it easier to use. I believe the packages are "freeglut3" and "freeglut3-dev"