PDA

View Full Version : Compiling the Kernel-Newbie Viewpoint

larry
May 10th, 2005, 06:48 PM
Hi Everybody,
I am a newbie and my idea of compiling the kernel may be too ambitious, but I want to find out more about it.
My desktop is a 900MhZ Athlon AMD, i installed warty for a i386 machines and then I upgraded to hoary via the net.
Sometimes the Gnome desktop is not very responsive, but maybe it is simply due to my seasoned hardware.
Should I need a different kernel (I mean a kernel for a e.g. a i486 machine, I do not think about some other version of a i386 kernel, which the one I have installed).
I am a bit afraid of breaking the system by playing with the kernel, so I first would like to know if there is a simple and above all safe way of toying around with the kernel without having much knowledge about it.
Cheers
Larry

LordHunter317
May 10th, 2005, 07:20 PM
Installing the approrpiate Ubuntu supplied kernel would be a better idea, I think. This can be done by installing the appropriate linux-image package (you want a k7 one in your case).

Xian
May 10th, 2005, 10:27 PM
I am a bit afraid of breaking the system by playing with the kernel, so I first would like to know if there is a simple and above all safe way of toying around with the kernel without having much knowledge about it.
Larry
I would encourage you to experiment as much as you'd like. Head over to the wiki and do a keyword search for "kernel". There are several good how-to's on this subject. The reason I encourage you is that any kernel you attempt to build will not replace the one you currently use to boot Ubuntu, and so as long as you do not remove that kernel from your grub config you will never have a 'broken' system. The worst (and most likely) issue you will find is that it will take you numerous attempts before you can compile a kernel that performs properly.

larry
May 13th, 2005, 12:19 PM