PDA

View Full Version : "Beginner" C++ Question

raevin
January 5th, 2007, 06:27 PM
Here's the thing...

I've been programming in C++ on Windows for a few years (at least 5), and am confused on where to start on Linux.

I know there's differences between programming for Windows and Linux, and that's what's really confusing me on where to start.

I know you're probably saying "we can't help if we don't know how far you got on Windows...". Well...I've dipped in everything from console apps (RPG's and various network tools [mainly like ipconfig]), games (which I do very badly at), and GUI apps (again, mainly like ipconfig, but I've also done file transfer programs, port scanners, etc...).

edit::
My question is basically, should I start from the beginning again ("Hello World!" -> simple game -> whatever else), or should I basically port the programs I've already made so they work on Linux flawlessly?

meng
January 5th, 2007, 06:28 PM
Would you mind rephrasing the question? I'm not sure what your question IS.

raevin
January 5th, 2007, 06:33 PM
Would you mind rephrasing the question? I'm not sure what your question IS.

Sure.

My question is basically, should I start from the beginning again ("Hello World!" -> simple game -> whatever else), or should I basically port the programs I've already made so they work on Linux flawlessly?

Verminox
January 5th, 2007, 06:57 PM
If by "console apps" you mean simply using standard input/output, the code should work in linux also, only you will have to compile it separately on linux using a linux compiler... the source will work.

"Games" in SDL or such (perhaps using OpenGL) will work on linux if you have the required libraries (not just download a dll for SDL like you did in Windows).