PDA

View Full Version : Where is the java classpath?

xpan
January 4th, 2007, 10:26 PM
hi,

I am new to Linux (Ubuntu 6.10) and I would like to program in Java.

In windows I was able to modify the environment variable CLASSPATH to point to the jar file I would like to use.

How can I do such a thing in Linux?

PS: more specifically I would like to add the "javac.comm" api

pmasiar
January 4th, 2007, 10:42 PM
i guess answer is here: http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=725746&postcount=9

welshboy
January 4th, 2007, 10:48 PM
I also learned another thing just now as a matter of fact.

According to a book I'm reading, you could put the .jar files into a folder called ext in your java folders, which will be here (if you installed from repos)

/usr/lib/jvm/java-1.5.0-sun-1.5.0.08/jre/lib/ext$

According to my book at least, it means that the .jars will be found automatically by the compiler.

However I think you'd need to be a super user to copy files to it

so you'd do
emyr@Wookie:~$sudo cp util.jar /usr/lib/jvm/java-1.5.0-sun-1.5.0.08/jre/lib/ext$

And then that should prompt you for your password, and then copy the jar file to the folder. Then you'll be able to access the jar file in all your java programs.

To edit the CLASSPATH variable, you could either edit your .bashrc if you want to make it just for your user, or the whole system by editing etc/environment

Hope that helps a bit too :S

Again, I'm going by what the book tells me.

steve.horsley
January 6th, 2007, 12:34 AM
welshboy is right. It is best not to set the classpath. Put "library" jar files like javax.comm in the JVM's extensions directory.

theDaveTheRave
November 27th, 2008, 12:45 PM
THANKS

I also learned another thing just now as a matter of fact.

According to a book I'm reading, you could put the .jar files into a folder called ext in your java folders, which will be here (if you installed from repos)

/usr/lib/jvm/java-1.5.0-sun-1.5.0.08/jre/lib/ext$