PDA

View Full Version : Java - chn.util package

crackling
January 3rd, 2007, 02:20 AM
How do I get the chn.util package and other java packages that I might need? I'm new to Ubuntu so thorough explainations please :]. Here's the code and errors I get if anyone is interested.

import chn.util.*;
public class test {
public static void main (String args[]) {
ConsoleIO kb = new ConsoleIO();
System.out.println("Enter number.");
int num = kb.readInt();
System.out.println(num);
}
}

test.java:1: package chn.util does not exist
import chn.util.*;
^
test.java:4: cannot find symbol
symbol : class ConsoleIO
^
test.java:4: cannot find symbol
symbol : class ConsoleIO
^
3 errors

Thanks in advanced.

welshboy
January 3rd, 2007, 11:05 AM
Firstly, you'll need to add the .jar file to the program's class path, you could do this by using:

javac -cp \[location of jar] classname.java and then run it using the same command (java -cp etc...)

However, you've not told me which editor you're using. If you use Eclipse, then it's a bit easier, you add the .jar file to the project.

To do that, you right click on the project that you want to add the file to, and then select properties.

And then select build path, and add the jar there, using add external jar. [I've attached a screen shot]

Or I think, I may need to be corrected on this!!!!! SO please check with someone else!!

you can edit the class path in /etc/environment to do that type in sudo gedit(or your choice of editor) /etc/environment, and then add the directory to the CLASSPATH descriptor.

Hope this helps.

You can message me if you have more hassles.

welshboy
January 3rd, 2007, 12:01 PM
I also learned another thing just now as a matter of fact.

According to a book I'm reading, you could put the .jar files into a folder called ext in your java folders, which will be here (if you installed from repos)

/usr/lib/jvm/java-1.5.0-sun-1.5.0.08/jre/lib/ext$