PDA

View Full Version : I'm programming on Windows, I want to program for Ubuntu on Ubuntu

Ubempi
January 2nd, 2007, 09:00 AM
Hi there!

I'm a newbie in what refers to Ubuntu (and Linux in general).
I'm a Windows programmer with little experience.

I'm wondering where can I start to make an application I'm currently building with SharpDevelop (+ MySQL) on Windows.

I'm trying to make something to register all the movements on my kind-of-Kiosk.

Nothing too big but my principal concern is about easiness, so I want to control each keystroke and the focus on all of what is seen (or not) on screen. It would be better if I can put some animations on the interface.

It needs to be easy because it will be mostly used by my mother.

I'm starting with the well known textboxes and filling listviews for the products and that stuff, managing keydown events (SharpDevelop is for .NET).

But doesn't seem to convince me. I'll try again but this time I want to switch to Ubuntu.

Which language should I start with? Which IDE?

Thanks in advance and sorry for my English.

DavidBell
January 2nd, 2007, 09:21 AM
I would suggest either

Code::Blocks nightly build with wxWidgets, C::B is a C++ IDE with wxWidgets built in. wxWidgets is crossplatform GUI and other stuff, I have found wxW good for transistion to linux because C++ compiles more or less without changes between MS Vis Studio, C::B (windows), C::B (linux), wxHatch (linux), also I guess Eclipse, Netbeans, so you can move over gradually. Downside is C++ is a bit lower level than C# so may be not your thing.

Java with Eclipse or Netbeans, again cross platform. Java is closer to C# (I think Sun threatened to sue MS). I had a look at both IDEs, didn't like Eclipse at all, thought Netbeans looked quite nice with good integration with GUI designer and code editors.

C# programs can also run in linux in theory via the Mono project, but don't really know enough about it to say if theory and practice are aligned.

DB

pmasiar