PDA

View Full Version : Useful Software

originof
December 29th, 2006, 08:59 PM
For a competition, i should create an open source software useful for the school, what can i do ??
I post here, because i want that teachers reply, and not other programmers :-D

ps. sorry for my english

slaanco
December 29th, 2006, 11:03 PM
I'm a teacher and we're using Derive, it would be wonderfull to have a freeware alternative :)
also a freeware alternative to Cabri geometry (although Dr. Geo is ok too) would be welcomed.

jonathan.lees
December 30th, 2006, 09:47 PM
How about a student behavorial management program so that you can track the good and the bad students.

slaanco
December 31st, 2006, 01:27 PM
How about a student behavorial management program so that you can track the good and the bad students.

i'm not sure about the functionality of such program. pls describe it :) i'm curious :cool:

jonathan.lees
December 31st, 2006, 11:35 PM
Ideally it would keep track of positive and negative referrals, student behavioral problems. All teachers could then share that information, say I got a problem with joe kid, I would log into the system and see what he's been up to and add a referral or a comment etc.

originof
January 1st, 2007, 12:17 PM
Ideally it would keep track of positive and negative referrals, student behavioral problems. All teachers could then share that information, say I got a problem with joe kid, I would log into the system and see what he's been up to and add a referral or a comment etc.

school is not a prison [-(

jonathan.lees
January 1st, 2007, 03:48 PM
I agree, but there are two sides to a coin and students with positive referrals get merits. I guess you want to focus on useful software for teaching and learning and not for the school in general?

originof
January 1st, 2007, 10:53 PM
any other idea ?

mikeyandmary
January 2nd, 2007, 06:25 AM
school is not a prison [-(