PDA

View Full Version : what do you see in 2007 for linux?

Redlance
December 29th, 2006, 01:48 PM
Me personaly I am amazed (sincerely) how much has changed in 4 years off and on i spent trying to get into linux. now that i have found a a nice easy system (well compared to 4 years ago). I have seen linux evolve ,rapidly in my opinion, to a very robust home enviroment. This year we have seen compiz blossom and fork off to beryl (thats the obvious one more like 2005-2006). I have seen better programs and stability in this short term. I wonder what surprises are in store for us next? Anyone hazard a guess :-k :)

Gargamella
December 29th, 2006, 02:11 PM
it is more and more user-friendly...I tried years ago to become a linux user... in vain:too difficult.

This summer I tried Ubuntu and here we are.
I agree with you, i am not an expert, but i saw a great improvement in the user interface and in the program installation (apt get)

John T. Monkey
December 29th, 2006, 02:39 PM
The Ubuntu 6.10 system I have now is much better, easier to use and stable than the SUSE 9.1 set up I started with a couple of years back. I can only really see that steady progress continue.

I remember having problems mounting CD/DVD ROMS and my UAB memory stick, which was supposed to be supported, completely freezing the system. Those issues were fixed in later versions of SUSE and are not present in the versions of Ubuntu I've used. One of many examples of the progress that's been made.

We'll probly see more new users come to Linux, some of them will stick with it and some will have a whinge on the forums and go back to Windows. The user base should be getting bigger rather than smaller, but I don't think we'll see any mass migration to LInux after Vista comes out the the public. I think Vista is going to become widely used gradually. Linux will slowly continue to gather more and more users as it gets better and better.

BWF89
December 29th, 2006, 02:55 PM