PDA

View Full Version : A programming language to start with

fasoulas
December 28th, 2006, 06:58 PM
Hey all this is my first time in the progamming talk section.

i decided to post here because i want opinions about what programming language to start with.I currenly have little expirience with visual basic and pascal.

But i am interested in learning other more usefull programming languages and i want your suggestions

I am thinkin of starting with C/C++ or Python that is also used on linux

meng
December 28th, 2006, 07:19 PM
It's a matter of personal preference, and I'm sure you'll get many different responses, but I have recently converted to Python with a great deal of enthusiasm. It is a good general-purpose language with easy to learn intuitive syntax and good cross-platform support. Perhaps you could elaborate on what sort of tasks you envisage programming, because depending on what these are you may wish to choose another language.

amo-ej1
December 28th, 2006, 07:24 PM
The programming talk forum is filled with similar questions, I think that hitting the search button will enlighten you the most. But the one answer you will find is that it is 100% personal

fasoulas
December 28th, 2006, 07:34 PM
I want some links about C/C++ or Python to start with

meng
December 28th, 2006, 07:34 PM
www.awaretek.com

maxamillion
December 28th, 2006, 07:49 PM
I think Java is a very good language to start with because it is safe, object oriented, and has C/C++ style syntax so converting over to others will not be entirely difficult. Many Universities globally are beginning to teach Java as the intro courses for computer science majors for these exact reasons.

Java doesn't generally have the best reputation in the open source community and I think alot of peoples complaints were phased out in Java5, they just never took the time to read the release notes. Also, it is open source now ...