PDA

View Full Version : closed source, what's the big deal?

d.j.schroeder
December 25th, 2006, 12:49 AM
Ok, I'm fairly new to the whole linux and open source software thing. I certainly see the advantages and disadvantages of this type of approach to software development. But, I do have a question.

Why do people seem so upset with Microsoft and others who sell closed source software? As though it is a violation of freedom somehow? I don't get it.

We're all (almost) using Intel or AMD processors, they don't release the details of their circuit layout or their process steps. Not that I think they should, but no one seems bothered by it. I could go on and on about proprietary technology that we all use all the time, but I think everyone knows. Why is software such a special case? Does everyone else do something with computers for a living?

Anyway help me out, it's an honest question.

meng
December 25th, 2006, 12:52 AM
From my viewpoint, software is a special case because if I had the source code, i could build on it and share my work with others. Tools to alter/enhance software are much more easily found and used than tools to alter/enhance hardware. AMD could release the design of their chips, it wouldn't do me any good though.

23meg
December 25th, 2006, 12:58 AM
We have a very recent and very similar thread here (http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=316738).

mysticrider92
December 27th, 2006, 02:26 AM
I don't dislike all closed source software (there is some pretty nice stuff out there), but M$ products seem to be badly written, slow, and lacking any personalization. On the hardware level, it doesn't really matter to me if I can find the exact wiring diagram and all technologies in my processor. As long as I can compile and run software on it, I don't really need it, but being able to modify the code for Windows to make it faster and better looking is something I would like to be able to do.

az
December 27th, 2006, 02:49 AM