PDA

View Full Version : Python HELP SPE

nick.inspiron6400
December 24th, 2006, 05:39 PM
Hello,

I am really really new to programming, and linux so bear with me!

I installed SPE (stanis python editor) and have tried to make a "Hello World" application, i do

print "Hello World" then i go to run the application, and it asks for a "argument" what does it mean?

Thanks,

Nick,

P.S

The only program i have ever done is a "Hello World" application in Visual Basic 2005!

SoloSalsa
December 24th, 2006, 05:52 PM
I know nothing about Python, but I know what an argument is. It's like cases, terms, details. Like, to find the square root of something (in Java) looks like
Math.sqrt (42);
42 is an argument. It sounds silly, but that's what it is. It could be one variable, it could be five strings, anything. Like, raising a number to the second power
int x = 2;
Math.pow (x, 2);
Where x is a number, 2 is the power, both arguments for the power method. This is a print command in Java
System.out.print ("Hello World");
Where "Hello World" is the argument. So, I do not know Python syntax, but presume that the argument "Hello World" is set up wrong... I hope this helps somehow.

Wybiral
December 24th, 2006, 05:52 PM
Arguments aren't important in a simple hello world program. They mean command line arguments... They are the stuff you put after a program's name in the command line that get submitted to a program. For instance, a program could be called "add" and would take in two command line arguments, add them and display the results. It would be called from the command line with "./add 10 5" and would display "15" afterwards...

But, for hello world they dont matter. I don't know how SPE operates, but you could just save it as "program.py" and execute it with "python program.py" from the command line. BTW, program.py was just and example, anything .py would work.

DirtDawg
December 24th, 2006, 09:22 PM
For now, just ignore the request for an argument.