PDA

View Full Version : ideas for J2EE project

welshboy
December 14th, 2006, 03:32 PM
Hey there folks,

Just wanted to ask a favour if that's ok?

I'm trying to learn stuff to get a job as a programmer. I have a degree in Computer Science, but I didn't go straight into the industry after graduation. (I won't go in to why).

And a lot of job sites I look at, want experience in J2EE. Now I know what all the J2EE stuff is, and I'm hoping to write a system that would be considered a J2EE application.

However due to lack of experience in the last three years, I honestly don't know what kind of thing a J2EE application would be.

I was wondering if anyone would be willing to give me some ideas for J2EE projects I could write, to try and get my experience up to do. My hope is to do a kind of programming portfolio of the stuff that I've written, to show the folks that I can indeed write computer programs.

Many thanks

welshboy

lloyd mcclendon
December 14th, 2006, 10:05 PM
my first app was a patient scheduler. no technically it wasn't j2ee since it ran in plain tomcat and used j2se, but it was a good example of enterprise development with good open source stuff & no crazy stuff from sun. ejb3 is a totally different animal than the crap that was ejb2 so i am starting to look into using them.

someone would log in, enter some pt info, pick a doctor, and have a list of times that she was avail pop up. they could also view a list of patients, drill down to one to edit. also had email functionality and some other bells & whistles.

some sort of CRUD application would proably be a good start. you will want to look into some frameworks & tools. i can suggest some, if you're interested let me know and i'll elaborate.

pmasiar
December 14th, 2006, 11:24 PM