PDA

View Full Version : How do Linux programmers make money?

Johnsie
December 11th, 2006, 07:33 AM
Ok, I'm a freelance programmer and I need to make a living from my work. How can I do this while being Linux friendly?

tribaal
December 11th, 2006, 07:56 AM
Of course.

Actually, you won't make money from the coding itself like for closed-source programms, but many companies make money by providing support for the said application (like redhat or Suse for example).

You can make money by selling a packaged application (install CD, written manual, etc... that's a service the GPL allows you to charge for), selling customer support, selling consulting fees...

Some people are being paid by a regular commercial company to code for linux, too. They contribute to everyone, but the company paying the programmer has someone handy that knows exactly how the software works (like an expert).

Hope you get my point.

- trib'

Johnsie
December 11th, 2006, 08:23 AM
Hmmm.... That would be great if I was working for a corporation who was willing to pay me for my hard programming work but I'm not hehe. Selling support isn't always viable either, especially when your software is easy to use and install and there are a million howtos available. Surely only hobbyists could do this kind of programming work for free?

Shay Stephens
December 11th, 2006, 09:35 AM
Surely only hobbyists could do this kind of programming work for free?
Not just hobbiests, but those motivated to do it regardless of their status. Usually it's something that you believe in, something you need, or something you want someone to have.

But there is nothing saying you can't charge for your program. Crossover Office charges for their work. They do good stuff, and I have sent them money. So in a way, I have helped support wine development, and I am not a programmer ;-)

My interest in free software is for the freedom, not just the beer ;-)

M7S
December 11th, 2006, 10:16 AM
CrossOver is proprietary.

Shay Stephens