PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade process not so keen?

wylfing
December 7th, 2006, 09:39 PM
Hi, I have been a Debian (or Debian-derivative) user for about 7 years. I am very accustomed to server-side Debian (of which I run three), and by that I mean stability is king and only trumped by security updates. You would have to stick me with a cattle prod to make me do a dist-upgrade on any of my servers. On my desktop, I tend to be much more liberal.

I started using Ubuntu at Breezy. It was so good that I finally dumped Windows on my desktop* (i.e., I do NOT dual boot). From there I followed the upgrade chain to Dapper and ultimately (although belatedly) to Edgy. My perception of things, though, is that stability goes down with each release.

Now, nothing has happened that I can't handle. I am not looking for support here. In relative terms, I am a Debian Linux expert. I don't panic when the kernel does, I fix it. But I still see an increase in crashes with each new release.

My question is whether I should be blaming Ubuntu, the fact that I have upgraded so often, or the fact that I am too experimental? I am not a nice user -- I break things, I try new things out, especially on the desktop that is not work-critical.

What is the overall perception of stability for Edgy? Has it degraded since the Breezy days?

* This was a long-time ambition. I had tried Fedora, Mandrake, and straight Debian as a desktop solution but always found something lacking. Ubuntu was the first time I found a distro that could replace Windows on my desktop.

Brunellus
December 7th, 2006, 10:13 PM
I found Dapper at least as stable as Breezy on my hardware--indeed, it fixed lots of things.

Edgy has been considerably less stable than dapper for me.

As I put in a sticky on the Absolute Beginners section: Edgy is...edgy (sometimes at least). If you want stability, stay with Dapper for a while.

mips
December 7th, 2006, 10:13 PM