PDA

View Full Version : Coffee Mug--To Wash, or Not To Wash?

RChickenMan
December 4th, 2006, 03:37 PM
Okay, so about a month ago, I was in the office kitchenette washing my coffee mug in preparation to get a cup. A co-worker who was in there gave me a strange look and informed me that it is best to never wash a coffee mug, to "preserve the flavor". A few others walked in and agreed with this advice. In fact, some veteran began recalling stories of when he was in the Navy and one of their favorite practical jokes was to fill someone's coffee mug with shaving cream, forcing them to wash it and remove this alleged "flavor build-up".

One small detail--I'm an intern. So, were these guys just messing with me, or is there any truth to this?

PriceChild
December 4th, 2006, 03:40 PM
I spent about a month in South America... everyone you saw had these little cups with silver straws which they used to get the "tea"... I can't remember what it was actually called and I hate myself for that... I'll have to check when I get home as I brought some back.

Anyway.... The whole idea of these was that you reused all the leaves again and again, each subsequent cup tasting just that bit better.

Pricey

Josh1
December 4th, 2006, 03:40 PM
They are taking the **** out of you. Not washing it spreads germs.

Tomosaur
December 4th, 2006, 03:44 PM
They are taking the **** out of you. Not washing it spreads germs.

The build up of germs is unlikely to harm you once you pour the oh-so-good kettle of boiling water onto them.

I rarely wash my cup. Maybe a quick rinse every now and then but it's not like I scrub away at it. I can't say I notice an improvement in flavour, but I still don't have scurvy.

Josh1
December 4th, 2006, 03:48 PM
The build up of germs is unlikely to harm you once you pour the oh-so-good kettle of boiling water onto them.