PDA

View Full Version : MATLAB substitute



pillu
December 1st, 2006, 05:05 AM
Hi all

I am pursuing my PhD in electrical engineering and use MATLAB quite a bit. I was looking for substitutes to install on my home computer. It seems that I have two options - Scilab and Octave.

Which one is the most easy to switch to from MATLAB ? I would love to use an open source software but do not want to spend the time to learn a whole new language. Any tips ?

slimdog360
December 1st, 2006, 06:42 AM
octave, make sure you also install the octave-forge package. Pretty much all the commands are the same except for a few plotting commands. You will also need the gnu-plot package to plot with octave, this is why there is a difference in some of the plotting commands.

Scilab goes about things in a different way and as such many of its commands are different also. This is not to say its worse, you may as well find that Scilab is better then Matlab its self, but if you want compatability go with Octave.

aysiu
December 1st, 2006, 06:52 AM
Isn't there a native Linux Matlab...?

slimdog360
December 1st, 2006, 09:53 AM
Isn't there a native Linux Matlab...?
yeah, but he wanted something open source and Im guessing something free.

emix
December 1st, 2006, 10:03 AM
Scilab has this tool:

Matlab to Scilab Translator (http://www.scilab.org/doc/demos_html/node264.html)

pillu
December 1st, 2006, 07:01 PM
Isn't there a native Linux Matlab...?

Yeah there is...but it isn't free...I guess I should try my hand at something free before paying for MATLAB

Jbloudg20
December 1st, 2006, 07:08 PM
Check at your bookstore. I was able to purchas Matlab for liek $50. It was well worth it IMO.

neoflight
December 1st, 2006, 08:05 PM
octave, make sure you also install the octave-forge package. Pretty much all the commands are the same except for a few plotting commands. You will also need the gnu-plot package to plot with octave, this is why there is a difference in some of the plotting commands.

Scilab goes about things in a different way and as such many of its commands are different also. This is not to say its worse, you may as well find that Scilab is better then Matlab its self, but if you want compatability go with Octave.

is there a builtin editor for octave? if not how do i make the code in text file and run ? i mean something like the matlab editor? thanks

alancaerdydd
December 2nd, 2006, 02:56 AM
Check at your bookstore. I was able to purchas Matlab for liek $50. It was well worth it IMO.

I suspect that that is the student version. If I remember rightly it's exactly the same except that all graphs have a banner on them saying Matlab Student version. I don't think it's easy (or legal) to remove that which is awkward for PhD/publication stuff. However, probably quite simple to interface with gnuplot to graph arrays.

Haven't had time to look at Octave yet, does it have a function comparable to simulink for quick building of models?

slimdog360
December 2nd, 2006, 07:27 AM
is there a builtin editor for octave? if not how do i make the code in text file and run ? i mean something like the matlab editor? thanks

I use koctave and use the text editor with that. I think there is also a new frontend for octave running around somewhere but I cant remember what its called.

adamkane
December 3rd, 2006, 08:47 AM
It's called octave-workshop, and it's too difficult to install on Ubuntu:
http://www.math.mcgill.ca/loisel/octave-workshop/

Score one more for Fedora.

neoflight
December 4th, 2006, 06:38 PM
i actually found out recently that i can use any editor and save the file as something.m and run that file like that in matlab; just use the filename with out extension. if the file doesnt have any extension then run as


> source "something" with quotes.


so gedit is fine with me... :D

roderikk
December 4th, 2006, 09:42 PM
Yep, and gedit of course has native .m file code highlighting so that works perfect!

To get a hang of all the plotting with gnu plot you might want to check out this site: http://t16web.lanl.gov/Kawano/gnuplot/plot1-e.html

tkjacobsen
December 4th, 2006, 11:04 PM
is there a builtin editor for octave? if not how do i make the code in text file and run ? i mean something like the matlab editor? thanks

In gedit you can also add an external tool, which is running the script in octave - then closing..

adamkane
December 5th, 2006, 06:34 AM
You can enter data in TeXmacs (MATLAB style), and TeXmacs will display the solutions as well:
http://www.texmacs.org/tmdoc/plugins/octave/octave-main.en.html

Thanks for the gnuplot link.

TeXmacs does gnuplot as well. Load the gnuplot session, enter the Section 4. Graph Gallery Examples, then press enter:
http://www.texmacs.org/tmdoc/examples/casdoc.en.html

venik212
January 7th, 2007, 02:15 AM
Is Octave currently being developed/debugged/extended?

tkjacobsen
January 7th, 2007, 12:46 PM
Yes. they released version 2.9.9 on october 2, 2006 - which will soon replace the testing version 2.1.73, and their mailing lists are very active.

WebDrake
January 7th, 2007, 04:32 PM
The one really outstanding issue is graphics. Octave's object-oriented plotting model still does not match the capabilities of MATLAB. It is still possible to achieve good plots, just not as easy as one might like.

I think this will be fixed soon, but probably not as soon as we'd hope for. I recall from some mailing list debate that it is likely to not be fully implemented in the soon-to-be-released 3.0, but should come in an update to that.

Jbloudg20
January 9th, 2007, 03:01 AM
I attpempted to install octave workshop, ad it was a nightmare.

If only fedora wasn't such a PITA for simple stuff, I'd probably make a permanent switch.

fadder
January 9th, 2007, 12:10 PM
matplotlib seems to provide quite good graphics, with MATLAB-style functions, but from a python environment.

I have just started testing this, but the combination of numpy (to get some nice array functionality) and ipython seem to work great.

vinx
April 20th, 2007, 03:50 PM
It was no nightmare at all to install the workshop: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=150310&page=5#42

So give another try!

eneth80
October 19th, 2007, 01:20 PM
>It was no nightmare at all to install the workshop: >http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...0310&page=5#42

when i do ./configure
I get:
..
checking does moc work?... yes
checking can I compile moc_myqt.cpp?... configure: error: couldn't compile moc_myqt.cpp

Argus
October 19th, 2007, 01:36 PM
They is also SAGE http://www.sagemath.org/

mattflaschen
August 29th, 2008, 08:12 AM
>It was no nightmare at all to install the workshop: >http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...0310&page=5#42

when i do ./configure
I get:
..
checking does moc work?... yes
checking can I compile moc_myqt.cpp?... configure: error: couldn't compile moc_myqt.cpp

On my Gutsy system, I fixed this by running:

sudo update-alternatives --config moc

and choosing qt4.

Of course, this will probably break something later and I'll have to change it back.