PDA

View Full Version : Intel Pro/Wireless 2200BG [Resolved]

Frijolie
November 29th, 2006, 08:29 AM
Hey all,

I'm new to this forum and didn't even know a Utah LUG existed! Well, that's good news for all of us.

I'm a Linux newbie (today is my Linux debut) and am experiencing my first roadblock.

I'm having difficulty getting my Ubuntu (Eggy) box to connect to the 'net with my Intel Pro/Wireless 2200BG wifi card. I've googled and read numerous HOW-TOs without any success. There's so much information out there that it's hard to tell which is the right one to go with.

I don't know where to start or what information you'll need to help me fix this speedbump, so please be patient.

Where do we start?

Thanks in advance for all of your help.

Frijolie
Holladay, UT

Frijolie
November 29th, 2006, 09:01 AM
with some more googling, I found some frequently requested outputs. Here they are and hope they help...

brian@brian-laptop:~$ sudo iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

eth1 unassociated ESSID:off/any
Mode:Managed Channel=0 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:0 kb/s Tx-Power=20 dBm Sensitivity=8/0
Retry limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

sit0 no wireless extensions.

and

brian@brian-laptop:~$ sudo lshw -C network
Password:
*-network:0
description: Ethernet interface
product: RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+
vendor: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
physical id: 1
bus info: pci@02:01.0
logical name: eth0
version: 10
serial: 00:0f:b0:5a:c2:1f
size: 100MB/s
capacity: 100MB/s
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegociation
configuration: autonegociation=on broadcast=yes driver=8139too driverversion=0.9.27 duplex=full ip=192.168.1.105 link=yes multicast=yes port=MII speed=100MB/s