PDA

View Full Version : Python or Ruby?

thomasaaron
November 29th, 2006, 12:48 AM
Well, I'm starting to gain some momentum at programming Python. I've written an email merge program that is pretty awesome (if I do say so myself) and a couple of other neat programs. Now that I'm getting the hang of it, I hate to even consider switching to Ruby, but...

There's been a lot of talk lately about Ruby being the language (in its category) to beat. Linux Journal picked it over Python, too, in their Dec. issue of editor's picks.

So, really, I have two questions:

1. With the rise of Ruby, is Python going to be around for the long haul? While I'm just a hobbyist programmer, I would like to focus my attention on something with some longevity ahead of it.

2. Which language (of these two) do you guys prefer? And why?

Best,
Tom

atoponce
November 29th, 2006, 01:01 AM
Python is not going anywhere, despite the Rise of Ruby. Python is a solid language with a TON of benefits. However, I would rather learn Ruby, because of Rails. Other than that, no real factor would lean me one way or the other, and I think they're both staying around for the long haul.

ghostdog74
November 29th, 2006, 01:46 AM
So, really, I have two questions:

1. With the rise of Ruby, is Python going to be around for the long haul? While I'm just a hobbyist programmer, I would like to focus my attention on something with some longevity ahead of it.

Best,
Tom

Python started way before Ruby, that's why Ruby still rising.:D ..why don't you try Ruby? and decide for yourself later which one you like? There's no point asking other people because eventually, their choices is their own preferences. you have to got find your own.:D

fatsheep
November 29th, 2006, 04:12 AM