PDA

View Full Version : Want to write an app for Ubuntu, where do I start?

GreenLantern33
November 28th, 2006, 08:18 PM
I'm been a visual basic programmer for about 10 years now. About a year ago I started playing around with linux, until a few weeks ago when I finally did the big switch and run Ubuntu on my main machine.

Now that I have everything working, I'm beginning to wonder how I can write applications for Linux. I have dabbled in C, but I don't really understand how to go about creating forms and dialogs like you can in visual basic.

So I guess what I'm asking is, what is my first step? And what is the step after that, and after that, and so on?

Thanks,
GL

marianom
November 28th, 2006, 08:39 PM
It seems that Python is a popular language here. I have more or less the same doubts you have (although I'm used to pl/sql) and I started recently learning it: too few days to comment anyway).
You can create a launchpad account, look for a project there and download a branch of any of them to take a pick.

Just my 2 cents.

cgrebeld
November 30th, 2006, 12:41 AM
I would say that even though the web is full of tutorials and such, a good way to start is with a book. I get like 300 hits of 'linux' in the Amazon programming category.

The choice of gui api depends somewhat on what features you want.

GreenLantern33
November 30th, 2006, 12:47 AM
I want something that is similiar to visual basic. Something that I can create forms and drag controls. I have looked into C and Python, and I don't really see any way to do this. In fact, I don't even understand how these programs even make forms and controls.

addicted68098
November 30th, 2006, 02:03 AM
I would recomend you use python, its a very nice language, just type python in the terminal!

Tkinter is very easy to use (although isn't as useful as GNOMES support) I don't think it supports dragging out of the box.
Basic is the highest level language out there.

http://www.pythonware.com/library/tkinter/introduction/