PDA

View Full Version : What language to use for a new programmer with a specific project in mind?

starchildmom
November 27th, 2006, 09:35 PM
Other than some very basic Basic and normal website development stuff (html, edit but not write php files, javascript, etc.), I have no programming experience. I am not looking to become an expert programmer. I have a specific project that I want to do in the most suited language.

The project is a homeschool planner similar to windows programs like http://www.contechsolutions.net/products/eths_pc/index.htm and http://www.homeschooltracker.com/ , but that will run on linux and be FOSS . It would be a plus if it could also run on Windows.

From reading the forums I get the idea that Python is a good place for a beginner to start. Will that work for this project? I realize I am being ambitious for a beginner, but it is something I really want to do. any advice is appreciated.

Choad
November 27th, 2006, 09:54 PM
python would indeed be perfectly suitable for this

you got py-sql for interfacing with a database, and py-gtk/py-glade for the GUI aspects

i only *very* briefly looked at the things u wanted to make... and the sites are not giving me much info lol. at least none that i can be bothered to find

if you would describe the features of this program i think people could help you more

i am rather keen on c# these days because im being taught it, so i would probably try it in that, but python is good too. im sure you'll be recomended a half dozen languages now lol

coder_
November 27th, 2006, 10:38 PM