PDA

View Full Version : Windows addicts/zombies and Uncritical minds

zetetic
November 25th, 2006, 04:47 PM
Although I'm new to this extraordinary Ubuntu Forums, I'm fed up with some Windows zombies or Windows addicts that seems to come here for only one of these two reasons:

a)to discharge their frustrations about a foreign (to this Forum) operating system (Windows) to whom they seem to mantain a paranoic relationship of Love/Hate and addiction/repulsion.

Many of this people even come here begging for help with problems created by Windows, only to say, after getting the help they needed, that they like Linux but only Windows "is ready for de desktop"...

Usually they think Linux is "not ready for the desktop", only because they can't run on Linux one or two applications (so they seem also to have a psicopatic addiction to one or two specific applications) or because they can't play on Linux some fancy games (I can't comment on this cause I don't know what is the age of those people...).

b) to discharge their frustrations about a great and free operating system (GNU/Linux), which they can't really use or can't use as the only or main operating system, because they are not prepared to it (either because they do not have the required knowledge and don't want to learn, or because they simply don't understand the polithics, ethics and philosophy of Linux).

Most of these people think an operating system should behave just like a Television or a wash machine. And they also think they have the right to learn about Linux, in a few hours, by osmosis, the same they required years to learn on Windows.

Well, that said, I will give you an example of the kind of posts I'm talking about.
The following is a very recent post, by someone who has quite a decent amount os posts (Beans) here:

On the same thread, created by him, and with the tile "Windows Broke Itself And My Patience" unlokia wrote the following to posts, separated by a few hours:

Quote: