PDA

View Full Version : General Gripe about the Microsofting of Ubuntu and Linux in general.

rcrook
November 24th, 2006, 09:27 PM
Ignore if you feel like.

I just upgraded from dapper to Edgy the hard way. IE: I downloaded the live/install CD iso and re-installed from scratch. (I like a challenge.)

Anyway after installing from the CD I went to edit the fstab to add the other file systems on my pc and a couple of nfs mounts and what did I find in the fstab??!?!?!?

This:

UUID=5384420f-f9ae-458e-b633-adfcb197cb6a / ext3 nouser,defaults,errors=remount-ro,atime,auto,rw,dev,exec,suid 0 1

The one thing that I have loved about UN*X and Linux since I started playing with them in 1993, is the easy of customizing the OS. This ease is born out of the fact that 95% of all the configuration is done through flat human readable text files.

You just fire up your favorite editor and hack to your hearts content. This use of flat human readable text files for config has made UN*X/Linux the incredibly versatile OSs they are.

What the hell is UUID=5384420f-f9ae-458e-b633-adfcb197cb6a supposed to mean?????. Geez, did someone let a Microsoft developer loose on Linux??

This move towards using hashes and hex keys may be efficient for the OS itself but why cant the developers keep them Out of the configuration files humans may actually want to edit. The ability to hack at the configurations of different parts of the OS and Apps is one of the founding ideas for Unix like OSs. The more you alienate the user from this process the less people you have to contribute to the community.

Now the really stupid thing about this example is that you don't have to have this ridiculous hash placed in the fstab. I changed the reference back the the good old /dev/hda1 and everything still worked fine. So my question is why place the hash in there in the first place?