PDA

View Full Version : the technical educational system in your reigon/country?

Somenoob
November 20th, 2006, 09:12 PM
Here they only teach C#, and nothing even remotely similar to cross-platform languages. They really assume that everyone uses Windows. Luckily books and online docs exist.

mips
November 20th, 2006, 09:16 PM
Here they only teach C#

Where is 'here' ?

What wrong with C and it's derivitives ? I'm no programmer but as far as i understand it's a pretty good base.

Somenoob
November 20th, 2006, 09:18 PM
Where is 'here' ?

What wrong with C and it's derivitives ? I'm no programmer but as far as i understand it's a pretty good base.

It is developed by Microsoft and only runs under Microsoft's Windows.

Henry Rayker
November 20th, 2006, 09:21 PM
It all depends. In high school, I learned C++; they moved to Java after I left. At the university, a lot of C and some assembly. However, I know there are courses here that teach just about any programming language you could ask for; I just don't have room in my schedule =\

pichalsi
November 20th, 2006, 09:32 PM
im on the university but only in first year, but we have basic unix, C and later assembly for sure

IYY
November 20th, 2006, 09:37 PM
It's not really standardized in Canada, or even Toronto, but here's what my school taught:

In grade 9, just a course on using Microsoft products like Office and Access.

In grade 10, Visual Basic for computer science.

In grade 11-12, Java for computer science, Turing for computer engineering.

The universities/colleges here also aren't all the same. Mine is more Unix-oriented, but others, like University of Waterloo, are Microsoft training centers (C#, .NET).

At York University (my school):

In first year, Java.

In second year, C, shell scripting, MIPS assembly and verilog. There is a short optional C# course.

In third year, Lisp, Prolog, Java, Eiffel (](*,)) and more C.

In fourth year, mostly C and Java.

mips
November 20th, 2006, 09:51 PM