PDA

View Full Version : Thank You Canonical.

abhaysahai
November 19th, 2006, 05:04 AM
Hi,
Last week I got my CD packs of 6.06. Now I have a Thinkpad with Edgy installed using instlux ( Yes!! just a few manual changes and we can simply install Edgy with instlux). At home I have Kubuntu Dapper and am very happy with this.
I showed this to my friends and they liked the overall setup but were skeptical about installing an OS about which they have little knowledge.
The ISO burned on CD, did little to help.
They say that I am a Software Developer so it is easy for me to setup and fix Linux, but not for them.
One of my friend had SUSE 9.1 ( boxed version) and other had Red Hat 6.2. Though a good os, but now it is outdated. He said that he used it as he bought it and the CDs came in a nice package with manuals. Now I do not think that I am ever going to buy a Linux OS for desktop.
I thought that a CD labeled with Company name might help and used shipit facility of Ubuntu.

I got the CDs and went to them. On seeing the "Authentic" CD from a Company their confidence was good. Then I booted the live CD and asked them to experiment as this will not effect their hard disk.
Luckily all the hardware got detected on my friends desktop ( Dell ) even we were able to configure the attached printer.
They tried and liked it.
Then I took them to ubuntu forums and ubuntuguide.
The result is that they think that I just used to brag saying that I use Linux, it is so easy that even they can use it.

5 of my friends immediately agreed to install it. I gave one demo and the next day all said that they were successful in installing it.
The liked the fact that they can surf web while installing.

OK I agree that today only 3 are primarily booting to Linux, the other two find Windows more comfortable. They still think that as they have paid for Windows XP so it should be better than Free Ubuntu.
There are a little flaws on part of Ubuntu too