PDA

View Full Version : Vista related ...

slavik
November 18th, 2006, 01:44 AM
I work as a systems technician in my college's library. My boss (not yet 30 but acts almost my age which is just over 20) told me with utmost certainty that I will buy Vista.

My response was "No, I won't."

His response was an argument that I will buy Vista for new games that will make use of DirectX10.

Over the past week I thought of his words and I realised something. If I want to play DirectX10 games, then I need Vista (100USD bare minimum), then I will also need a decent DX10 video card (200-300USD for a model or 2 under the best of the best). This seems like 300-400 USD investment so far, but there is more. My system right now is an AGP type system, which means that if I wanted a new card, I would have to buy a new motherboard with PCI Express which is another 100-200USD (for a decent/good motherboard). After the motherboard, I will also need a new CPU (my current CPU is a SocketA Athlon XP 2500-M) which is also 100 to 200USD (depending if it's dual core or not) and new RAM (100USD for 1GB?).

For those who are not human calculators, we are talking about 600USD at the minimum (900USD for something a bit better). I am not even talking about my 3 IDE CD/DVD drives and 3 IDE hard drives (they are connected via Promise UltraATA 133). Did I mention that I am a college student? Did I also mention that I don't like things I don't like shoved down my throat? (marketing/technologies/anything).

While my neighbors will be ordering the latest Dell to be able to run Vista (or pre-loaded with Vista), I will be enjoying my AIGLX (I am sure that ATI will have proper support for it by then) Beryl desktop.

And now back to your scheduled programming, so stop drooling.

DannyG
November 18th, 2006, 01:50 AM
Your assuming that game developers will just suddenly switch to DX10 the second Vista is released.

It will be a very gradule introduction, so I don't think you should be worried just yet.