PDA

View Full Version : Commercial software/hardware rant

hambone79
November 17th, 2006, 06:16 PM
I know most of you don't want to listen to me complain, but I need to get this off my chest and I'm sure some of you can relate to my story...

Let me start out by telling you a little about my background and what I do. I am a mechanical engineer who works for a large corporation that makes construction equipment. I spend most of my day sitting behind a CAD workstation, but I also spend a lot of time outside of the office resolving manufacturing problems.

My CAD workstation is a dual display HP xw4200 Workstation with a NVidia Quadro FX 1300 graphics board, 2GB of RAM, and a 3.4GHz P4 Processor running Windows XP Pro. It is a few years old, but it still has pretty decent specs. Anyway, the reason I'm writing this rant is because the quality of this machine and the software I have to use on it. We use PTC Pro/Engineer for all of our CAD work and for the most part it is a great program, but some times it really drives me nuts.

For the past week I have been working on creating models for a wiring harness installation and it hasn't been going well. First of all, the HP workstation is extremely slow for the specs it has. I have stripped it down to the bare minimum software (Pro/E, Outlook, AS/400 terminal emulator), updated to the latest recommend drivers, and it still feels like it runs slower than my old IBM G40 laptop at home. Second, Pro/E likes to randomly crash for no apparent reason which causes a cascading crash that crashes every other program I have running. At this point the only option I have is to kill the computer and reboot.