PDA

View Full Version : gEdit - PHP Syntax Highlighting & Replace Function

altonbr
November 14th, 2006, 08:04 PM
These question are regarding gEdit (Ubuntu's default text editor):

1) Is there a way to highlight embedded PHP variables (the kind that show up in strings).

<?php
print("<td>$todays_month</td>");
?>

<?php
print("<td>$todays_month</td>");
?>
2) Is there a way to use the replace function on only text you've selected? Sometimes when I am copying and pasting HTML in my PHP, I need to PHPize the HTML code (aka: replace " with \") and it's annoying that I the settings aren't verbose enough to do a replace only on a section of the page.

I love gEdit other than that. It's the best replacement for Notepad++ I've found so far. And I am aware that Bluefish as it's own Syntax Highlighting Editor, where you can see the regular expressions the program uses, but I wouldn't know where to begin in creating one for embedded variables in PHP. I'm still a beginner mind you.

EDIT:: Also, as I just noticed, gEdit doesn't have ASP highlighting. I mean I hate ASP as much as the next man, but I find it interesting that it only has VB.NET for highlighting. I just need to use my desktop temporarily until my laptop's ethernet connection software (that the school provides) is fixed.

altonbr
December 7th, 2006, 05:33 AM
Bump.

altonbr
December 13th, 2006, 05:55 AM
Does no one find this a necessary function?

Kurt`
December 15th, 2006, 08:14 AM
Don't output HTML like that... just do this:

echo <<<WHATEVER
blah
blah
<p style="font-size: 20px;">
more stuff and html, oh look a $variable
</p>
blahblah
WHATEVER;

It's called "here document" syntax and it kicks *** :p

altonbr
December 15th, 2006, 10:43 PM
But how do you get it so there is a syntax colour change for the variables embedded in the HTML?

Like this:

echo("
blah
blah
<p style="font-size: 20px;">
more stuff and html, oh look a $variable
</p>
");

Helmi
July 21st, 2007, 06:08 PM
Any news on that?