PDA

View Full Version : Companies Using Ubuntu?

derby007
November 14th, 2006, 04:42 PM
How many companies out there are using Ubuntu in their workplace? for any sort of tasks at all? Seeing as it has Open Office, media applications, e-mail, word processors, etc etc... Maybe the WORD needs to get out the general public : Linux is FREE, use it !! I've talked to electronic engineers who were using some form of linux (in their job), command based, but apart from using the same old cammands day-in day-out, they didn't know the sheer flexability/customizability of it. Are we (workers) going to be stuck using the 1 product for ever? i hope not :rolleyes:

Bavo
November 14th, 2006, 05:12 PM
I'm a network administrator for a part of a university in Belgium. It's not really a company, but it comes close :).
I'm currently installing Ubuntu on the computers here. This are computers for about 30 persons.

The computers here are used mostly to write papers using LaTeX and for scientific research.

Old Pink
November 14th, 2006, 05:13 PM
Google use Ubuntu Linux in their workplace. :)

hotbrainz
November 14th, 2006, 05:16 PM
I work for a Telecom major. We are seriously looking to Open source as a viable development platform. Ubuntu is strongly backed personally backed by me and is very appealing to other developers here as well. If implementation happens we could be looking into market penetration of tens of thousands of pieces of equipment and servers that we sell.

Subnet
November 14th, 2006, 08:29 PM
I work at a hospital and we are using a ubuntu server to store log files of our Windows clients. If I have my way, we will also be using it for a webserver and possibly a few clients for the doctors to use.:cool:

MedivhX
November 14th, 2006, 08:37 PM
In Serbia there are some stores using Fedora Linux as Lily Drogerie - http://www.lilly.co.yu/

Chillee
November 14th, 2006, 09:31 PM
Canonical ?

qalimas
November 14th, 2006, 09:55 PM
Canonical ?

Why would THEY be using Ubuntu?](*,)