PDA

View Full Version : Server Computer

rado_london
November 12th, 2006, 03:49 AM
Hi
I am a poor college student in london. My dream is to get server for meself. Well I get EMA weekly and it is £30. So I can get around 150 for christmas. Can you help me choosing the machine for £150. On it I will run Apache, PHP and MySQL.
Well help me please.

az
November 12th, 2006, 04:44 AM
Hi
I am a poor college student in london. My dream is to get server for meself. Well I get EMA weekly and it is £30. So I can get around 150 for christmas. Can you help me choosing the machine for £150. On it I will run Apache, PHP and MySQL.
Well help me please.

You can run a LAMP server on a pentium one, if you want. It will not be super-fast, but it will work fine.

What do you want to do with this box?

rado_london
November 12th, 2006, 02:19 PM
You can run a LAMP server on a pentium one, if you want. It will not be super-fast, but it will work fine.

What do you want to do with this box?

As I said I want to run a webserver with apache, FTP, PHP and MySQL.

KaroSHiv0n
November 12th, 2006, 02:21 PM
As I said I want to run a webserver with apache, FTP, PHP and MySQL.actually you diddnt say that. The stuff you want will work on pretty much any spec of pc, go to a local computer store and see if they have any second hand machines? seems a fairly cheap way to do it, its how i got my file server :)

rado_london
November 12th, 2006, 02:27 PM
actually you diddnt say that. The stuff you want will work on pretty much any spec of pc, go to a local computer store and see if they have any second hand machines? seems a fairly cheap way to do it, its how i got my file server :)

Thanks for the advice.
Actually I said it in the first post. Here is a proof:D

Stew2
November 12th, 2006, 03:04 PM
Thanks for the advice.
Actually I said it in the first post. Here is a proof:D