PDA

View Full Version : Is Ubuntu right for me?

cypher543
November 11th, 2006, 06:56 PM
Sorry if this is the wrong place to post this...

I am a Fedora Core 5 user, and I'm absolutely SICK of yum. I've been using Linux for about 2 years now, so I'm not exactly a newbie, but Ubuntu has always had this "Only for newbies" style. I understand that's what you are trying to advertise, but it kind of puts us Intermediate Linux Users off.

So, can I use Ubuntu for the type of things I use Fedora for? Such as hosting a development server for my web projects, developing software (Python, Ruby, Ferite, C/C++, Mono), XGL/Compiz (I understand FC6 comes with this, but I can't upgrade because of a slow connection, which is one reason why I like the 1-CD Ubuntu install).

Thanks,
David

ComplexNumber
November 11th, 2006, 07:23 PM
I am a Fedora Core 5 user, and I'm absolutely SICK of yum.why don't you download apt and use that instead?

So, can I use Ubuntu for the type of things I use Fedora for? Such as hosting a development server for my web projects, developing software (Python, Ruby, Ferite, C/C++, Mono), XGL/Compiz (I understand FC6 comes with this, but I can't upgrade because of a slow connection, which is one reason why I like the 1-CD Ubuntu install).if you have a slow connection, thats 1 good reason NOT to prefer the 1cd install.

.t.
November 11th, 2006, 08:26 PM
Ubuntu is right for everyone!

shining
November 11th, 2006, 08:35 PM
So, can I use Ubuntu for the type of things I use Fedora for? Such as hosting a development server for my web projects, developing software (Python, Ruby, Ferite, C/C++, Mono), XGL/Compiz (I understand FC6 comes with this, but I can't upgrade because of a slow connection, which is one reason why I like the 1-CD Ubuntu install).

If there is one thing you can do in one particular distrib, you can do it in any linux distrib. The only problem is that it may not be as easy.