PDA

View Full Version : sight challenged newb & 6.06 LTS?

SVDtiger
November 10th, 2006, 04:51 PM
hi, im glad to be here and my name is john.

im pretty much unsighted now due to accident a few years back. im a linux noob as of today (much thanks to shipit and gilles casse both). for years i have stuggled with that other os just to use a computer. i started in the land of dos and os2 but still never got to advance much due to constant housecleaning and upkeep issues with winwoes.

my machine is much like myself older quirky
and needs to be replaced with newer model says my lady :O

here it is:

Main Circuit Board b500 megahertz Intel Pentium III
32 kilobyte primary memory cache 512 kilobyte secondary memory cache Board: Intel Corporation WS440BX AA744110-205
Serial Number: ISWS95111008
Bus Clock: 100 megahertz
BIOS: Intel Corp. 4W4SB0X0.15A.0015.P10 09/28/1999
Drives Memory Modules c,d
40.01 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
37.63 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

_NEC DVD_RW ND-3520AW [CD-ROM drive]
Generic floppy disk drive (3.5")

WDC WD40 0BB-53AUA1 [Hard drive] (40.01 GB) -- drive 0, rev 18.2 256 Megabytes Installed Memory

Slot 'J6J1' has 128 MB
Slot 'J6J2' has 128 MB
Slot 'J7J1' is Empty
Local Drive Volumes

c: (FAT32 on drive 0) 40.01 GB 37.63 GB free
Network Drives
None detected

i plan to do total install of what you folks would or could recommend as best choice for visually impaired user with the resources i have here.

i have oralux distro and want to use it for
when i go totally blind. doctor says i will sometime but not when. of course as they all guess anyway

i want to use any tech that i can to have better or semi normal life. computer adds much to disabled folks lives. i think by going to linux now and learning all i can now about command line operations will aid me with use of any readers i am forced to use later. is that good clear thinking??