PDA

View Full Version : Bring on gpl v3

frup
November 9th, 2006, 12:41 PM
Hey I'm no expert on GPL etc, but from what my understanding is, I ONLY WANT FREE SOFTWARE.

The whole Microsoft Novel thing scares me and it's made me value free software so much more, I'm planning to get rid of anything proprietary now.. e.g. flash.

From what I've read the GPL v3 is:

Anti DRM
Stops Kernal hacks to allow NON GPL software. (Novel does this and now it looks like its going to get scarier)
Increases our freedom

The downside is Video drivers and codecs etc. I'm not using any of them at the moment though because I'm on an old computer since my main one is broke

I know most of you won't care what I have to say :)

DoctorMO
November 9th, 2006, 12:50 PM
On one side there is the idea that you should be allowed to do anything you want regardless of your responsibilties to your fellows or the creators (i.e like the BSD) on the other side is the GPL where freedom is guarded by the enforcement of resposibilty and respect for other peoples work.

Allowing kernel hacks is not in the best interests of te kernel, it's already protected quite a bit.

Personaly codecs and formats that are undocumented should not be used. codecs or formats that can not be implimented without using patented methods should be illial under the entrapment laws (encrypting someones data in a format only the company has real access to could be considered blackmail)

GPLv3 is a good move to clear up the intention of the GPL, the fact that parties don't agree about certain parts just goes to show you the kinds of freedom we've gotten used to having. and all thats good.

frup
November 9th, 2006, 01:10 PM
I'd feel a great sense of relief about the future if we had GPLv3 now.

weatherman
November 9th, 2006, 01:18 PM
I think you are confusing a couple of things.