PDA

View Full Version : I need a little help with a Web Development Project

Psycs
November 6th, 2006, 09:09 PM
Hi, everyone…

I am a law student that wants to get into a web-based business, but I know next to nothing regarding the technical aspects of web development, design and maintenance.

All I have is an idea and some savings to get everything going. The problem is I don’t know where to start! ](*,)

I am thinking of a sort of a simple “Web 2.0” page, driven by advertisements (Google Adsense, perhaps), where people easily and without cost can advertise their goods by entering a short description and perhaps a few photos.

However I have certain questions:

- Should I buy a server? If so, what kind and how much should I spend? I don't want to be dependent on a hosting service.

- What database technology should I use? Which requires less maintenance?

I don’t think I can trust a web design firm to make these decisions for me, but on the other hand, I don’t have the expertise or know someone I can trust in this regard, either.

I don’t want to pay big bucks to the company that makes my website every time I want to make a change or the page requires maintenance.

Ideally I should be able to handle all non-technical aspects and I was thinking of hiring a student (such as myself) that might want to earn a few bucks helping me out ocasionally.

What do you guys think? Has anyone had similar experiences?

DoctorMO
November 6th, 2006, 09:14 PM
You really have two options:

1) learn the technical asspects
2) team up with a technical person

Otherwise you will end up with a service that is ineffectual, expensive or more often than not both.

Good luck!

warlorddagaz
November 6th, 2006, 09:24 PM
Web development is one of my hobbies, and such, hopefully some of the following may be helpful.