PDA

View Full Version : What's mac like for web development?

Peter Mount
November 6th, 2006, 03:08 AM
Hello

I've been a pc user since 1994. It's likely that my next computer will be a pc as macs just seem so much more expensive.

I have noticed though that a lot of web professionals prefer macs for web development. Are there any sites that list the pros and cons of using a pc vs a mac for web development?

I have to admit the price difference alone would mean I'd need a VERY good reason to switch to a mac. I could easily buy a pc and put Kubuntu on it for a lot less money than a mac would cost.

Thanks

DaveBorealis
November 6th, 2006, 04:01 AM
Hello Peter,

I use both Mac (10.4.8) and Ubuntu (6.6), and for me it's a wash between the two. The Mac is more polished where things really do just work, and work well, but my Ubuntu has been trouble free so far...and it's free. Can't knock the price!

I'm just a hobbyist coder, however for the bit of java/perl/php/python that I do, I don't notice much difference between using the Mac or Ubuntu. If fact I pretty much use the same programs on both as they're both Unix-like underneath.

Dave

aysiu
November 6th, 2006, 04:22 AM
If you're buying an Intel Mac, you may be in luck, as there's an adapted version of IEs4Linux for Mac, I believe. There's also Crossover Office for Intel Mac.

Those are the only ways with an Intel Mac that you can reliably test how people will see your site in Internet Explorer 6.

My wife has a PowerPC Mac and does a bit of web development. She has to use my Ubuntu (with IEs4Linux) to see how her websites look in IE 6.

Otherwise, Mac is a perfectly fine platform for web development, especially if you like Dreamweaver. If you prefer to hand-edit HTML/CSS/PHP, etc., there are a few good syntax-highlighting Mac programs as well (my wife uses Smultron and Taco).

Peter Mount
November 6th, 2006, 04:33 AM
Thanks for the replies